The more things change…

(Jul 10 7:14 p.m.)

The difference five months makes.  This is the trail that runs next to the house.

Upon entering. (Jul 10 7:13 p.m.)

Last time on this blog, the area was covered in snow; now, it’s green with vegetation.  Or, as one commenter put it: lush.  This Monday, I was a bit annoyed with the stagnation in the house— being unable to deal with the squirrel that’s in our roof, for one; I stormed out.

Roof.  And two trees which enable the squirrels access to it.  I’d cut them down if I could. (Jul 9 6:37 p.m.)

I soon returned to grab the iPhone to take some pictures of the trail for the day.

(Jul 10 7:17 p.m.)

The bucket’s still there, as well as the chairs and collapsed table(s).

(Jul 10 7:15 p.m.)

And some new cans

(Jul 10 7:16 p.m.)

Not to mention some unmentionable stuff you don’t want to step in. …Though I just mentioned it.

(Jul 10 7:19 p.m.)

And after making it to the “intersection”…

(Jul 10 7:20 p.m.)

I found the folding chair had been set up.  You really couldn’t miss it.

(Jul 10 7:19 p.m.)

Unfortunately, that’s kind of it for the trail— roughly the same scenes you’d see in the November post.  Unless you want to see more photos of litter.

A large puddle, much evaporated and absorbed in the ground compared to its peak. (Jul 12 6:54 p.m.)

It rained here a bit Wednesday, enough to form another mini-lake in the driveway.  Not a record amount.  However, there was a flash flood warning or two, so far this month, as well as tornado damage on the first Saturday.  Tornadoes are rare in the state, but in western Maine as many as four touched down, with reporting from WGME and the Globe.  The damage was not nearly as bad as what goes on in some parts of the U.S.; the worst of them were EF1s, and only one person was injured.  But there was property damage, nonetheless.

Of course, I have no photographic evidence of this myself.  I don’t live in those areas, nor do I chase storms.

Mushroom…? (Jul 12 6:57 p.m.)

I’m only lucky enough to get nature shots near the house… mostly just the plants.

One flying insect holding on to another insect, on a porch railing. (Jul 14 1:15 p.m.)
BIC® lighter. (Jul 10 7:25 p.m.)

And trash.

(Jul 2 4:45 p.m.)

And partly cloudy skies.  It’s supposed to be clear today.  One of the previous posts inaccurately suggested it rained all that week in June (it was mostly overcast, I think), but… I couldn’t think of a way to fix it without ruining the flow of the post.  Leaving it alone, well, I do get a bit of creative license with my own blog, after all. 😉 …I’ll just let this paragraph be the correction.

(Jul 2 4:43 p.m.)

I managed to get some footage of fireflies in action on the 10th, as well as some audio of the fireworks that have been going on throughout the month (or some kind of explosions last night… plus a smell of fire… that can’t be recorded).  The quality and extent of either is not good enough to post… not that WordPress allows you to post A/V content directly into a free blog.

(Jul 10 8:41 p.m.)

As far as my personal life and the world at large goes… things have not quite stayed the same.  Not much has happened at home, but that doesn’t mean I’ve been sleeping well.  That day on the 10th included three ticks on my person— all three of them removed and neutralized.  On the 8th, three services went out: cable TV, local cell strength and landline.  The landline was more gradual— static-filled before out completely days later.  Could be corrosion, could be rodents chewing at everything.  (All three have all been restored by the time of this writing.)

Plant now competing with the house in height. …Pay no attention to the exposed wires… again. (Jul 12 7:01 p.m.)

The week that followed was filled with news much ado about Russia, if you haven’t heard already.  Lies and corruption.  I could compare Vladimir Putin to a wild animal: wild animals allow nature to dictate their limits, whereas Putin will keep going in a given direction unless someone/something stops him.  If you thought what goes on in The Americans is bad…

Well, that’s it for now.  I might, in a future post, elaborate further on what’s going on, I might not.  I’m tired.  Until next time…

Not much color remains. (Jul 9 6:20 p.m.)
4 thoughts on “The more things change…

  1. I like your pictures, AdamJasonP. It’s like taking a mini vacation trip back to Maine. But, tornadoes in Maine? Yikes! That is surprising.

    Since moving to eastern New Mexico seven years ago, where the great high plains and the high desert meet, I have become an amateur storm chaser. Although, more accurately, the storms chase me. A couple of weeks ago I got a brief video of an awesome supercell with a couple of hair raising lightning strikes. And yesterday afternoon, while driving back from Amarillo, Texas, I captured what looked like the beginning of a wall tornado, and a double rainbow. But all I had with me was my cell phone, so the pictures didn’t come out that great.

    I don’t even know how many pictures I have now of supercells, funnel clouds, and softball sized hail storms. The weather here is very extreme. We get everything from dust storms to monsoons and flash floods.

    We even had a blizzard here, right after Christmas, in 2015. Goliath, they called it. It was far worse than any snowstorm I ever experienced during the five years I lived in Maine! More than 30,000 cattle were killed in this area by that storm. Two big grain silos were blown down, less than a quarter mile from our house. And a freight train was blown completely off the tracks, four miles away.

    I miss Maine..

    As for the troubling stuff in the news: it’s too bizarre to be true. Yet it is true. Which is what makes it so scary.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Reply:

