The end… of a rainy work week

(Jun 29 5:33 p.m.)

I wish I could say I’ve been busy all week, but I haven’t.  It rained, and there were a few thunderstorms.  The rodent(s) in the house — particularly squirrels, given how loud and forceful they are — are sometimes eating, scratching away material in the ceiling (and I have footage and some lost sleep to prove it).  I wrote a little, but mostly I felt sorry and empty for myself… What’s new?  Lol.

(Jun 29 5:34 p.m.)

Wasting time on twitter.  Overthinking.  Pining over a friend.  Getting blocked for the first time that I know (I really didn’t do much of anything; *shrugs*).

So much of my time this week, however, was spent reading about and watching the gradual horror show in the news.

“If I didn’t laugh, I’d cry.” (Jun 29 5:34 p.m.)

If you’ve been living under a rock, the GOP have been wanting to push through a bill, no matter how bad it is, in a total loss of morals or principles wanting to pass it for the sake of passing it or taking Barack Obama’s name off it… even though Obama’s name was never really on it.  Less than 30% of the public approve of the Senate health care bill.  (Few Senators have any confidence in it, thank god.)

And then, the President, during a loyalty and praise withdrawal, took to twitter, talking of blood coming out of a woman’s face again.  Not only that, but allegations came to light of phone calls to blackmail the news anchors he attacked, for an apology… from the news anchors.  This is what it looks like to have a “leader” who would rather obsess over his image on cable news while Rome is burning.  Seriously.  There are outside forces looking to take advantage of our President’s narcissism.  Russia, North Korea, tensions between China and Taiwan… Mika Brzezinski.

Not looking good. (Jun 29 5:33 p.m.)

So… my own personal troubles aside, this Fourth of July weekend begins with a reminder that our country is in trouble.

Now, before I finish this short update, I’m still a little torn about the Grenfell Tower fire.  It was historically bad, and reminded me of 9/11/2001.  But I was unable to effectively write a good draft about it.  The story may have faded into the background, but it’s an ongoing issue with long term repercussions.  There are thousands of such tower blocks in the U.K. with or without renovations, and policy changes are needed in the U.K.  That’s what I’ll say about it for now.

(Jun 29 5:34 p.m.)

Okay.  I need to get to bed so I can make the Saturday group in the afternoon.  July 1 falls on a Saturday, after all.

Have a good July 4th weekend, everyone. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The end… of a rainy work week

Thoughts? Reply:

