It has arrived

(Feb 13 8:28 a.m.)
(Feb 13 8:28 a.m.)

So much snow in one week.  An extra one, two… feet.  You know it’s a bit much when the banks get so high from the natural accumulation and artificial snow plow accumulation that the top of the mailbox popped off.  Luckily, my mother found the box (and a piece of mail).  And the box was filled with snow. …I used a bare hand (not so much my brain) to clear it out.

Window sill. (Feb 13 3:46 a.m.)
A bit of Nor’easter on a living room window sill. (Feb 13 3:46 a.m.)

It was a little exciting to see the progression of the weather.  (When I wasn’t beginning to watch the whole first season of Penny Dreadful for the first time.)  The weather was quite a pain, of course, for those who had to work despite all the snow.  The list of closings grew pretty long for Monday.  Not all roadways or parking lots were plowed, making the parking bans a no-brainer.  Even if the driver’s ed. school was open (which is still possible)… it was more sensible to just call it a snow day.

(Feb 12 4:40 p.m.)
(Feb 12 4:40 p.m.)

And that, there, is the front yard… the “before” photo.  On Monday, I got out the yard stick and measured some 9.5″ added to the some half-foot I had already shoveled to the back of the house.

After photo. (Feb 14 3:00 p.m.)
“After” photo. (Feb 14 3:00 p.m.)

When the banks in your yard start to get as high as the banks you once saw near the road… that is some @#$%ing natural accumulation.

img_0625
Deathcicles 3.0. (Feb 14 3:00 p.m.)

And then some of the icicles become noticeably long again.  I wasn’t having the deathcicles scenario again, having broken many on two non-contiguous days.  But to see ice on the little tree, and running down the side of the house…

(Feb 14 3:03 p.m.)
Driveway. (Feb 14 3:03 p.m.)

But it was fairly easy for me to handle.  (Not that I did all of the shoveling.)  The snow was, by today, still so very soft.  The shoveling is a bit time consuming, yes, but… good exercise lol.  (And I don’t mean to rub it in for those that did not want to deal with all the white stuff.  It’s just that I could have more to do in my life, haha. …Which, again, sounds like I’m rubbing it in. 😅)

(Feb 14 8:47 p.m.)
(Feb 14 8:47 p.m.)

The above image, of my raw handprint, demonstrates how soft the snow was, and still is.  I literally just kicked snow out of the way to set down the recycling bin for Wednesday’s trash and recycling pickup.

(Feb 14 3:03 p.m.)
(Feb 14 3:03 p.m.)

And the little tree along the driveway still has leaves, despite being partially buried.

Well, we shall be getting another two days of snow in a row.  Right now, I shall be getting back to Dreadful, interleaved with reading the State of Maine Motorist Handbook and Study Guide. …Wish me luck! 🙂

3 thoughts on “It has arrived

Thoughts? Reply:

