Of building bridges… and sheep

img_20161116_141416
(Nov 16 2:14 p.m.)

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn.” —David Russell

Yeah, okay, so that quote doesn’t quite apply here, lol.  I’m not known for burning bridges, literal or otherwise.  I don’t forget people.  My memory may not be 100%, but I still remember faces, even if the names escape me.  Every once and a while a regret may pop up in my head over broken connections and bad impressions… but those things are a part of life.

On the literal side of things, a new bridge was recently built to replace an old one and make way for new power lines, here in Nowhere, Maine.  (Buxton, to be precise.)  It was the Bar Mills Bridge, built in 1936, that had to go.  The green bridge, which closed July 11, is still being dismantled…

img_20161116_141341
New beside old. (Nov 16 2:13 p.m.)

Large trucks (above a certain weight) were not permitted to use the old bridge, for obvious reasons.  (Eighty years old.)

Side view, across. (Nov 16 2:13 p.m.)
Side view, across. (Nov 16 2:13 p.m.)

The new one was completed in November— a contract of 120 days.

Welding sparks in the distance. (Nov 16 2:14 p.m.)
Sparks in the distance. (Nov 16 2:14 p.m.)

On the metaphorical side, I have a real problem at building my own bridges.  An Aspie who fell out of love with life, connecting with people has always been hard.  But I must build.  No man is an island.  We must grow to live.  At least professionally, we need relationships.  Of course, there’s always some pain in the process, some kind of labor.  And when a bridge fails, it can take part(s) of you down with it… But we need to exercise the right muscles; we need to try to repair and move on.  Sometimes we can manage without a bridge somewhere, but every so often we must rebuild.

img_20161116_141702
(Nov 16 2:17 p.m.)

All of us come and go in our own time, and none of us are the same.  What was sweet is bound to turn sour, so we must accept facts and learn to move on— forgive when it is time.  Easier said than done sometimes.  But if we can, in fact, never forget someone who no longer needs us… then why try to hold on if we’ll always remember?

img_20161116_141556
(Nov 16 2:15 p.m.)

Soon after crossing that new literal bridge over Saco River, and for the first time, my mother spotted some sheep.  Or, at least they appear to be sheep…

(Nov 16 2:16 p.m.)
Horned.  The images I came across for bighorns didn’t quite look like these.  They can’t all be rams, can they? (Nov 16 2:16 p.m.)

She pulled over.  It was quite sudden, but there was no traffic.  And so I took the opportunity; I crossed the road, and approached the fence.  And they, the sheep, were excited.  They may have expected food (from strangers), considering they rose to see me.  Needless to say, there was no intellectual conversation to be had.  I said “hello,” and one of them immediately pooed.  They all gradually turned their heads away.  …Again, I’m not known for connecting very well with others.  Noticing the dropping of “malted milk balls,” I said “okay,” and moved on to the other side of the barn. …And I’m sorry if I’ve caused you to never eat Whoppers® again.

img_20161116_141714
(Nov 16 2:17 p.m.)

On the other side of the barn, I got some baas.  Click here for a video.

I could go into the metaphors of being a “sheep” and “don’t be like a sheep to the slaughter,” and stuff like that, but… nah.  (Or na’ah’ah…)  We’re all on our way to some place, and it’s not really my place to tell you, dear reader, what to think.  I can, however, ask you to be honest with yourself, in good reason and good health.

Well, I got a lot of backlog of reading and writing to tend to.  Until next time…

img_20161120_150343-cropped
(Nov 20 3:03 p.m.)
One thought on “Of building bridges… and sheep

  1. “The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn.” —David Russell
    Deep, Man, deep. I’m actually terrified of bridges. I have bad dreams in which I am stuck smack-dab in the middle of a very very looooong one. Like the one that connects the last few Florida Keys. Or goes to Macinac (sp?) Island in Michigan. Sorry; tangent. But it’s your fault, mentioning bridges (!)

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Reply:

