Final leaves of fall

(Nov 20 4:01 p.m.)
(Nov 20 4:01 p.m.)

It’s now the last month for the season.  Most of the leaves have hit ground, and what remain of them are brown.  The only greens I can see now are of moss and pines.

img_20161120_160050
(Nov 20 4:00 p.m.)

Notably, I still see some crisp, brown leaves…

(Nov 15 3:38 p.m.)
(Nov 15 3:38 p.m.)

…that remind me of those leaves I saw back in April that look almost like potato chips.

IMG_20160419_142122_777
(Apr 19 2:21 p.m.)

Oh, they can be nice to look at, but…

img_20161119_132003
(Nov 19 1:20 p.m.)

They have to be dealt with at some point.  I exercised my “shoveling” arms Saturday, raking, and quite a bit since I cleared more than I needed to.  Using my hands, I also filtered out acorns, tossing them to an area once cleared for a shed that’s now long gone.  It’s good I’m exercising these arms— you know, for the inevitable, the…

img_20161121_100900
The white stuff. (Nov 21 10:09 p.m.)

…greatest hint of winter: snow.  This morning, I rose, and… saw that.  It was cold enough.  It’s forecast to be 29°F before sunrise.  But no more precip.… until Thursday.

img_20161121_143505
(Nov 21 2:35 p.m.)

Maine wasn’t alone in terms of winter weather in the Northeast.  New York collected two feet of snow; nearly a foot in Mass.; and a blizzard in West Virginia (not to mention toppled trees in its southern neighbor).  But it might not be the weather that keeps people from post-Thanksgiving air travel if the potential airport worker strike in the news happens…

(Nov 21 2:36 p.m.)
Now-leaf-less “porch plant.” (Nov 21 2:36 p.m.)

There were some patches of blue sky here, but it was mostly light gray.  Haha, nothing happens around here.  People who grow up in Maine and want a more colorful life tend to look into possibly leaving the state. …Lots of potential leaves. 😉

One thought on “Final leaves of fall

Thoughts? Reply:

