Paths undiscovered

(Nov 6 1:22 p.m.)
Intense colors. (Nov 6 1:22 p.m.)

There may be an infinite number of things we can do or ways to do them in life, but we only walk the paths we are ready to walk.  We are not meant to walk them all.  Or even see them all.

Sometimes we can become so buried in our work that we lose parts of the big picture.  We can busy ourselves to exhaustion or pretend to avoid confrontation or danger (such as having a smartphone in front of us, or earbuds in to bore others), or to avoid pain… But life isn’t meant to be lived in a bubble.  We are meant to feel, and do what scares us every now and then.  We aren’t ants or plants; we are human beings.

img_20161105_132417
(Nov 5 1:24 p.m.)

Now, if there’s anyone who’s lived under a rock, it’s me.  And I mean, I have nothing, nada, zip figured out from experience.  The main reason why I can’t really write a novel is because my own living story is so empty.  I am Exhibit A for someone who hasn’t done anything with his life.

img_20161105_165140_053
Going up?  Sorry, no. (Nov 5 4:51 p.m.)

However, since 2012, I have opened up to opportunity quite a bit. …Of course my methods have been awful as opportunity most always doesn’t return my calls.  I’ve been reaching out to strangers, sometimes with my heart on my sleeve.  Lots of failure.

(Nov 10 4:49 p.m.)
(Nov 10 4:49 p.m.)

Still, the people I’ve met these past four years have changed my life in ways big and small.  I’m trying new things, attempting to socialize more, even if the results are not great.  The Saturday group, for example— I learned things I couldn’t have possibly learned not going.  And even more than that; I was one of some twelve who, after the meeting, went to dinner— or Deny’s to be precise.  It was either living with some spontaneity, or… same old nowhere.

(Nov 5 1:25 p.m.)
More leaves like pedals. (Nov 5 1:25 p.m.)

I found a common interest (or side-interest) with one of the group leaders; his experience may be particularly valuable to my future— not to mention his connections.  And again, I wouldn’t have found all that out if I hadn’t have joined in.

img_20161105_132427
Sunlight on a gazebo. (Nov 5 1:24 p.m.)

Now, the mere object of going out and socializing may seem small to the average person, but up close, there’s always more to find, always more meaning to life.

(Nov 5 1:24 p.m.)
(Nov 5 1:24 p.m.)

It is vain to think we have all the answers, or believe that we’ve explored everything there is to explore.  Not only have we missed a lot of things when we were alive and spending time, but things change.

img_20161106_132946
(Nov 6 1:29 p.m.)

There is always unexplored territory; there are always new things to find.

img_20161115_154256
…Bucket. (Nov 15 3:42 p.m.)

It was a relief when my faraway friend was reunited with her best friend (and therefore didn’t need me at all); I had devoted so much of my time to her (by my choosing), even when I wasn’t present with her… talk about dysfunctional love.

img_20161115_153822
(Nov 15 3:38 p.m.)

So I returned to the nearby trail.  Upon closer inspection, I discovered things.

img_20161115_153738
Weathered table, drawers. (Nov 15 3:37 p.m.)

I even found out that the three-way “intersection” of a clearing was actually more of a four-way intersection.

(Nov 15 3:47 p.m.)
Beyond the fold-up chair… (Nov 15 3:47 p.m.)

That’s right.  I missed a path.  Not only that, but this new path splits at a point; so it’s like I found two new paths through this neighborhood trail.  And, oh…

(Nov 15 4:21 p.m.)
(Nov 15 4:21 p.m.)

The following journey was not without some danger.  Stay tuned for the shocking conclusion. …Okay, so the conclusion is actually kind of soggy and boring… or is it? 😉 Lol.  Well, until then…

Homemade blueberry muffins. (Nov 10 6:33 p.m.)
Homemade blueberry muffins.  (Sorry, they’ve all been eaten.) (Nov 10 6:33 p.m.)
Thoughts? Reply:

