A day at Crescent Beach (Part I)

img_20160514_153939_953.jpg
Beach sands. (May 14 3:39 p.m.)

In the middle of May, I took the opportunity to snap photos of Crescent Beach state park. My mother visits the park with some frequency during warmer times of the year, and she’d asked me a few times before to come with. It was a good idea— the sights, the air, the walks that are, say longer than one would think.

IMG_20160514_154845_621
Walkway. (May 14 3:48 p.m.)


May 14 was also the day following my first tests with QAAC— a program for producing files with a compression format more efficient than MP3 so I can store more music on the smartphone. (I’d no experience with iTunes… I still don’t.)

(May 14 3:13 p.m.)

Sometimes it takes the absence of something to get you to appreciate what you have. An issue with the car (fixed) led to the use of the car’s stereo to play music with the phone. I noticed the USB and auxiliary audio ports in the rental… The owned car has at least auxiliary… So, all this time, I could’ve tested that out… Well, I didn’t have a working cord until aunt J. sent, as a Christmas present, a HydroSound — battery-operated speakers with sealed fountains to jet water during intense audio.

(May 14 3:42 p.m.)

…I got to test the phone’s Bluetooth for the first time with HydroSound… I quickly got tired of it as the sound of water and motor pumps interfered with the sound… Not a practical present.  The external speakers I’d already set up for the PC long ago are mostly better, with the Dell equalization, anyway… So all but the cord are in the HydroSound box. (Sorry, aunt J.)

Still closed for the season. (May 14 3:57 p.m.)

It wasn’t yet standard operating season for Crescent Beach park.

IMG_20160514_155047_184
No electricity, no pumps for the drinking fountains. (They’re on now.) (May 14 3:50 p.m.)

The people that oversee the park expect people to pay an entrance fee, for maintenance, to say the least… The driver behind us seemed to think you didn’t have to pay because it was ‘out of season.’ …Oh, the rangers are there now; they were present Monday.  Just the fact that they open the park for drivers means you have to pay.

(May 14 3:27 p.m.)

Now, you can walk the trails, or make use of the benches at the park…

Notice the distant land masses… and a couple, perhaps. (May 14 3:15 p.m.)

…Or you could visit the beach.  (You may click an image for detail, as always.)

(May 14 3:42 p.m.)

…Find the occasional seaweed washed ashore…

Lots of seaweed here.  The camera doesn’t seem to pick up the greens of this scene very well. (May 14 3:34 p.m.)

…Find the beauty in the rocks…

(May 14 3:34 p.m.)

…Find some water collected in the crevices…

IMG_20160514_153539_099
Ooh, sea shells, too. (May 14 3:35 p.m.)

…Perform a little rock climbing…

(May 14 3:36 p.m.)

So many years ago, we used to go to Two Lights, where I would climb the surfaces of the rocks… with my feet.  I moved quickly.  I guess you could say I ran up and down the rocks. Not rock climbing, but rock running. …I’m too tired these days to run, but I conducted my share of foot-work at Crescent Beach.

Thirteen photos in, it would be wise to break here.  27 photos in this set, fourteen to go…

One thought on “A day at Crescent Beach (Part I)

  1. I think the walkway to the beach is what clearly separates the east coast from the west coast. Our walkways aren’t paved with planks, but remain a wild footpath. At least in my me neck of the woods they do. That and it still seems cold. Although lately it has been cold here and much warmer in the north east. Oh well…

    Welcome back to the blogosphere. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Reply:

