Winter Update

skyline
On the drive home. (Jan 11 5:09 p.m.)

I’m sure you’ve all heard of the blizzard of 2016, the one that swept the East Coast of the United States, right?  Jonas?  Well, Maine got nothing.  It was kind of strange, actually, how the storm brushed almost precisely along the coast of the state but never made landfall.

IMG_20160120_132741_324
Things still froze over. (Jan 20 1:27 p.m.)


New York, on the other hand, got its second biggest precipitation on record for the state—  up to 26.8″.  Six fatalities were linked to the storm; mostly elderly, some people went beyond their limits in shoveling…

Cars?
Cars?  What cars?  (Source: twitter; Jan 23)

For Maine, it was quite the opposite.  After a week of temperatures in the 20s, by Tuesday, it was 43° F, and the snow had melted to the point you can clearly see the ground in the path:

IMG_20160126_145218_109
(Jan 26 2:52 p.m.)

Twas melting, the ice and snow.  I could hear dripping in the distance… and feel some of it too, hitting my head when exiting the house.  It was still above freezing when I took out the trash Tuesday night.  That isn’t to say we’re out of the woods…

IMG_20160123_162213_268
No deathcicles this year… so far… (Jan 23 4:22 p.m.)

It’s been a mild winter here; however, snow is in the forecast for Saturday.  Besides rain, the clouds have produced only little specks of cold precipitation… melting on the warm phone screen during my first attempt to make an international call, Wednesday— just two hours outside.  (And take my anxiety, with poor sleep in the stress of facing a phone conversation.  Seriously, take it.)  …But the sky cleared enough that the stars were out that night…

IMG_20160125_134508_820
Steps to the back door. (Jan 25 1:45 p.m.)

…It’s been a struggle writing, so I guess it’s time to catch up on my reading! 🙂

IMG_20160111_164338_421
USM Library, first floor. (Jan 11 4:43 p.m.)

Reading: it’s better than needlessly staring at plants…

IMG_20160111_164352_227
(Jan 11 4:43 p.m.)

At the very pictured library, checked out “In Pursuit of the Common Good” by Paul Newman and A.E. Hotchner, the early history behind Newman’s Own, beginning with Paul’s salad dressing… I only read some four chapters before it had to be taken back.  I’m not an avid reader, but you should’ve seen how fast— how much I read at the last minute! 🙂

…Later on, I photographed some of the white stuff on the ground at Back Cove.

IMG_20160121_140638_514
Very low tide. (Jan 21 2:06 p.m.)

…But I couldn’t walk far; the high winds kept pushing me backwards and sideways.  My face got cold, to say the least.

IMG_20160121_141616_546
(Jan 21 2:16 p.m.)

So my walk became a half-walk.  Before all that, someone was dog-sledding…

IMG_20160121_135635_696
Two dogs, one man… stepping off of the sled. (Jan 21 1:56 p.m.)

…Back at home, snow melting, I couldn’t help but notice a few things.

IMG_20160125_134336_386
A tree with unshed leaves, in winter. (Jan 25 1:43 p.m.)

I thought I heard something… something sliding… Apparently, a piece on the edge of the roof slid a little… and down came melted water, down the side of the house…

IMG_20160126_145646_745
(Jan 26 2:56 p.m.)

As if this house needs more water damage! …

IMG_20160125_134435_621
Old red wagon (for when I was a kid), under snow. (Jan 25 1:44 p.m.)

Well, it’s time for me to fall off the wagon… —er, wrap this up.  I need sleep.  A ton of sleep.  Writing for therapy is… sigh.  (Difficult.)

Have a nice day.  Don’t overexert yourself, shoveling! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Winter Update

  1. I have no idea why, but I thought you were in Michigan. Maine. I love Maine. Spent some summer vacations there as a kid. Some of my fave pics my dad took were in Maine. Nice State. For the Summer.

    Writing for therapy is hard. Mainly because it’s so freakin hard to see straight with tears building up. End then ink blots on the paper from tears falling. Yeah. Writing for therapy is a bitch.

    Hang in there, Spring is right around the corner, and I hope it’s a small corner. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Maine, yes. Cold. …And as far as the therapy goes, it’s not so much the emotional aspect, it’s the work ethic—willpower put in other areas of work entirely… though it would be better going through the process crying than not at all. …I don’t mind the winter that much; I would want these days to last too, getting older.

      Like

  2. Jason!! These pictures are beautiful!! Your writing is beautiful, too.

    I love Maine. One of my grandchildren was born there, in Lewiston. I lived in Maine in the late 1980s through early 90s, in the Lubec-Eastport-Machias area. I also stayed in Bangor for a few months, just a couple of blocks from Stephen King’s mauve Victorian with the iron gargoyles people kept stealing.

    The weather has been so topsy-turvy this winter. Here in New Mexico we recently had a terrifying two day hurricane force blizzard that beat anything I ever experienced living in Maine! After the howling wind stopped, I took pictures and posted them on my blog. Did you see them? In case you didn’t, here’s the link:
    https://healmycomplexptsd.wordpress.com/2015/12/29/pictures-of-our-blizzard-winter-storm-goliath/

    Of course, my pictures aren’t as nice as yours, I took mine with my phone.

    Our weather has already warmed up into the upper 60s here since our Goliath blizzard. It’s quite different from how long and dark the Maine winters are. I remember how glorious springtime in Maine feels after the long dark deep freeze. Even with all the mud and black flies. I was so thankful for my house with the mudroom.

    Maine seems very far away and yet, about three years ago my husband had a minor accident in a parking lot here in our tiny New Mexico village… he backed into a car being driven by a vacationing police officer from Machias, Maine. Small world, huh?!

    Take care and stay warm. I like your little red wagon. I had one of those… about a hundred years ago. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yikes. Blogger Opinionated Man told me that my comments weren’t showing up in his notifications, either. I thought the problem was in the browser I was using, so I switched to a different one. But if my comments still aren’t showing up, maybe it’s my server. Let me know please if you got the notification for this one.

        Like

      2. No. Didn’t receive notification for this.

        I don’t see how the browser or your server would affect WordPress’ comment filtering in notifications (no notification for auto-spammed comments). The email and IP all looks valid, and your comments cleared by Akismet and went to the blog… So as far as I can tell, this problem is with WordPress— incorrect redundant information, perhaps.

        Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Reply:

