A Year In Photos: Winter, 2015

With the smartphone aunt J. sent me the November before last (quite liberating for a poor man), I finally had a digital camera to experiment and document with.  Not a great camera, but good enough in good light.

All of the photo posts (the majority in 2015) are accessible via the photography tag, of course.  I uploaded a few more, so here begins: a brief overview of 2015, plus little bits of history behind the photos, and those that didn’t make it for brevity, and not knowing where the heck to put them… and data limits.

An all-in-one would be kind of insane, so here is: part one: winter.

…But first, I want to apologize to my readers, and to myself.  The turn of the year has been an emotional roller coaster…caused by me, amounting to the lateness of this, and then some.  Sometimes I just can’t accept the reality around me.  I get lost, begin to doubt myself, and my writing becomes awkward at best… I make a really bad hermit.  So, sorry, my now-over 500 followers.

Okay…  This winter overview begins with one of the very first photography subjects on the blog: snow.  Most of the images here are high-def and “color-corrected,” including this newly “enhanced” 2014 photo:

Nov 26 photo, enhanced
Fall snow. (Nov 26, 2014 3:51 p.m.)

For 2015, it wasn’t until the very end of the year that the first winter snow hit.  It hasn’t snowed since—so far, an easy winter, though bitter cold on some days (22°F fell to 9°).

(Dec. 29 2015 4:50 a.m.)
Not a great shot, and possibly ruined by the color de-speckling (to remove color grain), but the earliest of the snowfall. (Dec. 29 2015 4:50 a.m.)
(Dec. 29 11:52 p.m.)
Pathway, from the porch. (Dec. 29 11:52 p.m.)
IMG_20151229_235322_014
The snow made the tops of the black trash bags white (it was trash day)…  The overexposure solved the problem of censoring the license plate… It was the falling snow in the foreground that threw the focus. (Dec 29 11:53 p.m.)

But a mild half-foot doesn’t compare to 2015 January… It just…kept…snowing.

438
The built-in smartphone app also does video, yay (Jan. 24)
(8.5" snow on railing image)
Picked up the yardstick; measured 8.5″ on the porch railing (Jan. 28 1:53 p.m.)

To think, a week prior: blue skies.

IMG_20150119_081439_805
(Jan 19 8:14 a.m.)

Nine days later…

IMG_20150128_145531_296
Accumulated snowbanks with heights comparable to cars… (Jan. 28 2:55 p.m.)
(parking lot snowbank in distance)
Parking lot snowbanks that dwarf trees… (Hannaford lot; Feb. 1 7:31 p.m.)
IMG_20150202_191928_562
And loss of power for hours (only a handful of hours here); decided to test out the Mac emulator on the phone to process my images.  Yes, a Mac on a phone…slow. (Feb. 2 7:19)

But a pain in the ass in shoveling and plowing doesn’t compare to deadly icicles…

deathcicles
I had trouble getting it all in-frame… see #Deathcicles for more frightening images. 🙂 (Feb. 24 5:23 p.m.)
IMG_20150303_134018_944
And the small tree, dipping under the weight of the snow.  A different angle was used for Surviving Winter (poetry post). (Mar. 3 1:40 p.m.)

Well, that’s what I have for winter, as defined by the calendar; the snow didn’t clear until April.  Yeah, I don’t get around much.  I’ll get in a few more pic uploads soon… if I don’t run out of data first.

Now, before I go, you may be wondering if I’d made any New Year Resolutions.  The short answer is: no.  I may set out to make efforts any time of the year, including, but not limited to: not standing so close to the heater that the back of my legs get heater-burned.  Again.  (Superficial; it’ll heal.)

Have a nice Friday evening!

5 thoughts on “A Year In Photos: Winter, 2015

Thoughts? Reply:

