Away from the Everyday Normal

Well, it’s the weekend, and I wrote another little microstory.  Did I use the prompt to add to the “infinitely growing story arc”?  Yes… but I wanted something different, something specific.  So I actually wrote two.  One, finished on time but unpublished; the other, today. …And, of course, I’m not satisfied.  Enjoy.

100 words


jp3
Photo Copyright © Jennifer Pendergast

At last, a stress-free vacation.  Finding gray hairs, Liz and I marked our trip with the Glasses on the calendar.

A needed moment of laughter with Liz was interrupted with Linda Glass storming out.  Jared’s having an affair.  They fought.  When it got dark, only Jared returned.

“Where’s Linda?” I asked.  Nada.  Something felt wrong.  I grabbed a flashlight.  Finding blood on the dock, I ran back.  “What did you do?!”  He denied everything, so I revealed everything.  That was stupid.

So there I was, in the rusted canoe, bound and gagged.  What really hit me: Liz was rowing.


Every week Rochelle hosts a link-up, where the objective is: a three-part story, at most 100 words, for a picture prompt by week’s end.

Click here to see what others have written or add your own take for the prompt.

6 thoughts on “Away from the Everyday Normal

Thoughts? Reply:

