Tick season—first-hand encounter

They drop from high up and they crawl upon walls.  They’re attracted to dark fur/clothing.  They’re known for transmitting Rocky Mountain spotted fever and Lyme disease.  And like a thorn in my backside…one tick literally became a thorn in my backside.  Luckily, it didn’t get far; I was able to pull it out with my bare fingers without it breaking apart.

I took some video of the tick before I…well, killed it.  The so-called high-def. photos weren’t as good as the videos, go figure.

[image]

Eventually I went to work on trying to find the right frame from the two videos I shot.  And then I noticed something: eight legs.  I looked up ‘tick’ in the dictionary, and sure enough, the tick is an arachnid, of the genus Ixodidae.  Arachnid means ticks are technically related to spiders.  Spiders are, of course, more helpful to humans that they catch and suck the blood out of insects…and spiders don’t want to bury themselves in you.

…Well, hopefully I didn’t get anything from this bug.  I’ll let you know if I a bulls-eye forms on my left cheek.  (And I don’t mean my face, haha.)  Kind’a reminds me of a line in Blankman, “I got a target on my ass…”

Let this post be a reminder that tick season is open, and in this case it’s the animals and humans that are the hunted .  And if one of these tiny buggers manages to get itself deep into your skin, get some professional advice on how to handle it.  Don’t just try to pinch or tweeze it out; they can break apart, and it won’t look pretty.  Rubbing alcohol can be used to offend them…or at least I think it’s rubbing alcohol.

Wear light-colored clothing if you’re going out.  Or not; it’s your choice to attract the ticks or not…

Update: according to WebMD, “The ticks most commonly infected with Borrelia burgdorferi usually feed and mate on deer during part of their life cycle.”  So the deer in woods aren’t benign after all.  Deer ticks.  And they may be more likely to get on you from the grass, not the trees.  (You know, with them being all slow and everything.)

10 thoughts on “Tick season—first-hand encounter

  1. We do tick prevention when we’re rambling now. I can’t help but wonder how we managed to survive all those years we spent running wild in the woods brushing off the ticks and digging the stubborn ones out with a pocket knife. We have become so much more delicate… bwah ha ha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ticks! Ug! I just pulled the first one (of many, I’m sure) off of our dog last week. A few years ago, my then 3 year old daughter had one nestled behind her ear. It was hidden, so we didn’t find it until it was the size of a tennis ball. Okay, I’m exaggerating. We freaked out and took her (and the tick) to the doctor. Fortunately, it was a kind of tick that doesn’t commonly spread Lyme Disease, but ever since then, ticks give me the heebie-jeebies.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Reply:

