Friday Fictioneers: Sleepless…

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This week’s prompt photo is from Doug, over at ironwoodwind.

Seeing the prompt, it wasn’t long before Con Air came to mind…I caught the flick again on TV, recently.  It’s crappier than I remembered.  But, past that, I found actual coordinates in the prompt photo, and tried to find the location.  Google Maps turned up blank, so I went to the map poster… Long story short, I got the coordinates in the wrong order.  I should’ve guessed by the file name, “keck”…the photo is of the W. M. Keck Astronomical Oservatory in Hawaii.  But the wrong coords. did give me an idea, so… Enjoy.

“Sleepless…”
100 words


[keck.jpg]
Photo Copyright © Douglas M. MacIlroy

I’d always dreamed of being a scientist.  You could picture me a young lad with a pen and a dorky grin; and boy, was I hungry for knowledge.  I felt alive.

Never in my wildest dreams did I picture myself at the North Pole!  Calibrating instruments under harsh, isolated conditions, I cannot sleep a wink.  Worse, there appears to be a bug going around.  Stomach flu, perhaps.

Bad news.  One measly lung infection, and we’re quarantined?  And beyond my team, where is everybody?  And why am I still here?  I’m immune!  …Boy, am I hungry… I think I’ll eat Bob.


Participation is welcome to all.  The goal is to write a story, beginning-middle-end, in 100 words or less.  You are also encouraged to “think outside of the box.”

Click here to add yours or see what others have written for the prompt.

Visit Addicted to Purple for Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers page, stories, and artwork.  You can follow her blog for the prompt each Wednesday.

22 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Sleepless…

  1. Oh, my goodness!!!! I have to tell you honestly that I just didn’t know whether to laugh or cry at the end. But I laughed anyway — at the sheer brilliance of how you pulled this off. Totally unexpected and perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hunger must drive people to do extreme things … but eat Bob? What did poor Bob ever do to deserve that! I love this fun story, Adam. The ending is simply excellent! 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Reply:

