“R.I.P. blogging, killed by screenshorts”

Imagine to my surprise coming across this news:

(If the tweet doesn’t show, click here to view the article.)

It made me laugh, but not out loud.  I couldn’t believe it.  Being a WordPress user for over two years, I wasn’t even familiar with the term ‘screen-short.’  (And notice the ‘r.’)  I know I’ve seen it in practice, but I never considered it a “platform-killer.”  Maybe I’m so entrenched in blogging or so far out of the loop that I didn’t seeing coming.  But as far as I can tell, screen-shorting mostly serves as a workaround to twitter’s 140 character limit.  Do workarounds kill platforms?

Side note: this post was a bit difficult to write because I found the article so absurd.  But I chose to write my reply as a blog post because twitter sucks at getting real messages across…which underlines the absurdity of the article, but I digress…

writes:

When I asked on Twitter today if young people were seeing this amongst their friends, the replies said it’s prevalent for many young people.

Okay, first thing, “prevalent for many young people.”  You chose an unreliable demographic, that may not have even applied very well to begin with, to indicate whether or not blogging in general is alive?

It seems that the consensus is that if you want to share your thoughts, you write it in a notes app and take a screenshot.

You have got to be kidding me.  (Seriously, is this a joke?)  Yes, the above—taking screenshots—is practiced, but screen capturing is more difficult than blogging.  (At least currently.)  And beyond that, the results are images, not text, so editing with it is impractical.  (Text can be embedded in image files, though.)

Obviously, the needs of those who “screenshort” are small.

Despite newer ways and means of communication, long-form writing will always exist.  Sure, particular websites will come and go, but the medium of blogging exists to serve the writer, not the other way around.  Many bloggers out there may want more readership, but a blog is a journal.  And because a blog is a journal, blogging falls into at least one of the definitions of journalism.

Ever since Information Technology began to serve the needs of news, journalism in all its different forms has only grown.  More and more, I see the WordPress status bar on the top of up-and-coming news sites because WordPress VIP is such a great tool for news and entertainment.

Having the necessary tools to build and grow is critical.  So just because a tool is taken for granted, doesn’t mean the occupation or profession it serves is dying.  Demands and outlets will change, but there are legitimate reasons why certain things have come to exist in the first place.  Ignoring those reasons is…well, ignorance.

Despite popular trends among “many young people,” writing will always exist to serve the benefits of writing.  Books will continue to be printed.  (And they’ll have to be if digital dangers like viruses, and EMPs mean anything.)  And blogging, or journaling, or whatever word is used to describe the digital practice in the future will go on because it serves its purpose like no other.

…On second thought, since I’ve been wrong on the outcomes of certain things in the past, maybe blogging is on the way out.  Maybe I am too entrenched to see the writing on the wall.  Maybe I’m…‘old.’  Maybe I’m just one of the remaining, dying few still engaging in the practice…even though the tally of bloggers I see are too far many to imagine let alone count.

Maybe this article amuses me because it shows the news media can get things wrong even when the subject is media.  If not wrong then flawed, since I’m compelled to question the seriousness of it.

At least we can all agree, blogging or not, that crappy journalism will never die…

9 thoughts on ““R.I.P. blogging, killed by screenshorts”

    1. Erm, blogging is short for web-logging, so computers are necessary for the term to actually work. But the underlying concept of ‘journaling’ has existed before the printing presses.

      …Okay, so the word ‘diary’ is actually, fairly new, with the first instance (English) on record dating back to 1605. But in other languages, 2nd century AD, and other hand-drawn…slash… carved…Zzzzz…

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diary

      Liked by 1 person

  1. As long as high schools give people diplomas who can’t write a sentence or do basic math, not a whole lot surprises me. It tears me apart to have to write things like, “r u w8ting 2 c” on Twitter, but when I have to read, “He want 2 doo mor werk” on a report from someone who graduated from high school, I have to wonder what future or writing, blogging, and journalism is going to face.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Instant gratification, less effort spent on correct language form. Part of proper journalism is making sure that, years down the road, the content is readable and understandable (clear). Grammar’s an unavoidable part of that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As far as I see it, and what do I really know? It seems as if bloggers are not withering away. There are so many new bloggers popping up on a daily basis, it seems kind of silly to say that this “screen short” whatever they call it, will kill the current flow of blogging. It is possible though. If anything I think it could be incorporated into current blogging as we know it.
    It kind of reminds me of my Journalism thesis back in 1997, on how electronic media would not be the death of a printed newspaper but however be a companion for it. Some papers have gone with the wind but other remain, and with a strong electronic emphasis.
    As with anything, time will tell.

    Like

    1. Efficiency is an important part of getting information; newspapers can be a bit of a pain—thick and folded by section, whereas books are linear.

      I dunno. At least with newspapers you can wrap fish—can’t say the same for tablets and e-readers…

      Like

Thoughts? Reply:

