Castaway

Cancer fucking sucks.

This Castaway reference resonates with me a bit.  The old normal no longer exists… My circumstances are different, of course, living in a virtual prison with virtually no love.

‘Devastating’ is the term I’d put on it—losing a loved one.  Recovery for some is never-ending.  And those who haven’t gone through such loss of life, with emotional and spiritual investment/attachment, can’t really understand what it’s like.

But at least Rishi is on the side of hope.

(Note: comments here are closed; visit this person’s post for your thoughts.)

Musings on a grief journey

Castaway is one of my favorite movies. It touched me deeply the first time I watched it so many years ago. It was probably much before I got married. Today I remembered I had the DVD in my collection and I watched it again as I had another of those lonely Sunday evenings to survive.

Maybe it’s my grief stricken mind but I’m amazed at the parallels. I feel so much like Chuck Noland – marooned on an island with no one in sight. Cancer entered our happy life like the plane crash in the movie. It destroyed everything that was precious to me and left me to live.

I cannot be grateful that I have my son but he can’t rescue me from this island of grief. I’m alone here day or night. I have begun to lose track of time. Sometimes I see a light in the distance…

View original post 910 more words

