Seven Reasons Why People May Not View A Post

I’m no expert on blogging, period.  But there are a few things I’ve learned over time.  This is in no way an exhaustive list and does not include SEO services tips, but I’ve listed seven reasons to count, so it should be an easy read.  (Still, I have more to learn.)

1. As we all know, communities grow and readership can run thin.  There are so many people writing about the same things at once.  The solution to being read there?  Bring out your strengths.  Creative roles depend on unique perspective.  Niches for a blog are, in effect, nothing more than welcomed challenges for the author, if you think about it.

2. Communities also die.  It’s a part of life.  Every now and then, you have to move on, and find something new to read.  Writing and feedback requires reading in the whole learning experience.

3. Internet traffic can grow like interstate traffic.  It fluctuates, but it always gets worse over time, overall.  So with that there are even more ways at which traffic is spread thin online, and there’s nothing you can do about it.  (No solution.)

4. Not everyone can speed-read.  I know I can’t read more than 400 WPM.  So there ought to be some challenge in the reading, as you’d want your content to be interesting, but not too much of a challenge.  It’s something to work on being clear without trying, if that makes any sense.  (Okay, being clear without trying too hard; that makes sense.)  While you’re at it, think about being encouraging too.

5. Many readers have to work for a living.  I state the obvious just as a reminder.  Timing is a big factor.

6. Many bloggers have Followed too many blogs.  I know I have.  Posts that don’t seem important may be skipped, and sometimes even the ones that “look good” to the eye.  And sometimes even the important posts.  I don’t know what every blogger reads.  No one does.

7. You lack authenticity, or you lack a sense of humor.  Those are requirements in blogging.  Get out of the way whatever you need to get out of the way, and don’t look back.  Or try not to.

Never say never, though.  Ideas and inspiration can come from any place, and that can lead to more viewership.  But don’t take this whole blogging thing too seriously.  Remember that blogging is about what you do.  So have fun!

8 thoughts on “Seven Reasons Why People May Not View A Post

  1. I just this morning slimmed my follow list down from 133 to 50 and boy was that hard (btw, you made the cut – ha!) Even 50 is probably way too much, but I simply couldn’t slim it down any further. I noticed I was missing out on a lot of posts and I didn’t like it.

    Like

  2. Just discovered your blog, and it’s one of my faves. Of course, I’m pretty new at this Blogging Thing. Lots to learn. My biggest challenge at the start was learning not to post too often. Am hoping this will keep my tens of readers from being inundated with hilarious addictive content.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Reply:

