Friday Fictioneers: Beyond the Portico (2015.02.13)

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for both the prompt and the photo.

The photo made me think of a period piece.  I can’t call this historic fiction because there’s nothing in history to base it on.  (I’m not an avid reader on history, let alone someone with in-depth knowledge of Georgia state history.)  I did not sleep before I wrote this.  You can still constructively criticize me to death anyway.

“Beyond the Portico”
Genre: Fiction
100 words



Copyright — Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Today, the sun shines its welcome, while infirmity confines me to bed.  Still I hear the hooves outside, crushing, churning gravel.  Not one bit, are those sounds lost on me.

I was in love that day.  I chose to surprise Tom.  I thought I’d have his hand, and his mine.  And what a surprise it was that my brother leapt to save me.

Time has not appeased momma’s pain.  Still, I find it odd that she does not blame me for Jacob’s death.  Momma suspects my guilt caused this horrible illness.  At last…I think it’s time to see my brother.


Participation is welcome to all.  The goal is to write a story, beginning-middle-end, in 100 words or less.  You are also encouraged to “think outside of the box.”

Click here to view the inLinkz for what others have written for the prompt, or add one.

Visit Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple for her own take(s) and her Friday Fictioneers page for more details.  You can follow her blog for the prompt each Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Beyond the Portico (2015.02.13)

    1. Yeah, the 100-word limit doesn’t work with me well. Tom’s the one she was in love with, and Jacob was killed in a horse and carriage accident saving her.

      I know I did a poor job.

      Like

Thoughts? Reply:

