Follow Your Heart

It appears some people can just never be happy with what they have or what they’re offered.

But everything in life is temporal—all a matter of consent in the past, and you have to move on.

Each individual has his/her point of view, past, set of struggles, strengths and weaknesses.  And though it is applied differently (sometimes very differently), love, down to its guts is all the same.

I certainly fell in love with the concept of love.  And it’s a complete mess when you actually look at it—the things people do for it, and in the name of it.  But it’s everywhere.  It’s what bonds life together, and it can appear without apparent logic.  And it’s something within you too.

Sometimes, the mind is confused about it.  We never actually fall in love with other people.  We are attracted to objects, to congruencies, to pheromones, to concepts and the concepts of people, but we don’t completely fall in love with the dynamic of a constantly changing organism.

But we intertwine on spirit.  We bond with objects, such as a child holding on to a Teddy bear.  We bond with practices, as we strive to do a better job for achieving better results.  And sometimes we yearn to find our respective soul mate—the “one” we are always with in some way or another, completing our sentences, etc.

Living life anew separates us, but life allows us to grow.  Life allows us to make mistakes so that we can learn and graduate.

You will be challenged in matters of the heart.  You will lose parts of yourself that you may wish to have back.  And regardless of where you are or whom you’re with, the struggle to live will only get tougher.

There are set limits to life (at least with our genes).  Embracing materials will only promote a living with said materials.  (And your body cannot become an iPhone.)

Yeah, we all make mistakes, and we learn.  But how we learn is important too.  We can’t always tell our heads apart from our asses.  And we can’t always tell the mind apart from the heart in our actions.

I’ve had my share of struggles.  But the worst of them stemmed from the fact that I wasn’t living (or living properly).  It’s still painful, being physically trapped to this day, but I must hold on to the heart that I have, because love will take me to where I need to go.  It takes time and courage, and respect, but I have to trust my heart.  (And I should probably be sleeping as it’s taking me too long to edit this whole thing.)

Following what you love and loving what you do is not a trick, nor a “hack” (and I’m sick of the word “hack” being thrown around these days as if it’s cool; yeah, Creativity Hairballs, from The Daily Post).  No, it’s a necessity.

Why would you give up on what you love to do?  For money?  Money is but a figment of material, and it is gone before you know it.  Bliss?  Bliss is like sugar—you’re getting disease with that sweetness.  For a lower risk of pain?  I’m sorry, but pain is going to happen one way or another; if not now, then later.

Yes, some passions can get you killed.  And I mean, literally killed if history has taught us anything.  But even then, heartless mistakes are what led up to such aftermaths in the first place.

On the spiritual side of things, on that journey, there is love and there is life, and those two things are not always in the same boat.  You could be terminally ill and have the best of spirits.  You could be in the best of health and be a complete asshole.

Life is temporal, but love is forever.  Insecurities for bad reason(s) can only hold you back.

It’s okay to reflect on fears, but it’s destructive to give in to them.  There were times when I felt the world was falling apart.  But then I embraced one of my dreams, and a whole world opened up for me.  I found a muse, and began to write a fiction novel.  And I changed with it, as it challenged my fears and my ideals.  I learned a lot in a short amount of time, and I endure to keep that process working.

But sometimes it feels like what we have is not enough.  Maybe never enough.

It wasn’t enough for me to read a passage of text where Christ made a matter on living about a choice between living well or living long.  I couldn’t embrace that for some reason.  I know now that his answer did not apply to me directly, but to the person he was answering to.  Just another case in point where I’m an idiot, especially since Christ’s lesson is still valid, generally speaking.

But that spiritual fulfillment is a spiritual necessity.  And once the spirit has moved on, it’s gone.  We have to move forward, even if we choose to endure holding on to someone whom is dying.

You have to live your life.  You have to manage to grow.  You must be able to breathe and eat in a day.

Follow the love that’s there, either within or relative to you, and try not to get petty.  And try to put the platonic first.  Loving art does not mean humping paintings.

Okay, I’m done.

Thanks for enduring my post. 🙂

Thoughts? Reply:

