In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Recently Acquired.”

I never have the time to follow through on the Daily Prompt, though I have on occasion looked and thought about it, and even made brief, obvious answers to some.  But this time it happens to coincide with something I was meaning to say anyway.

“What’s the most important (or interesting, or unexpected) thing about blogging you know today that you didn’t know a month ago?”

Try the entire time.  The importance of reading!  I mean, how stupid could I be? 🙂

 

I found out in my own practice how much reading was crucial to writing, and vice versa, reading short stories in physical book form, but I didn’t apply it to blogging!

Oh, my god… Stupid.  But also stressing, and not that simple…

(To be fair (to myself), I couldn’t read much off the internet with what I had.  Hence, little else but physical reading.)

And on that train of thought, the true purpose of the Like: readability, attention to detail—the “was it worth it reading as literature, and how messy it can, and is allowed to be?”  I’ve seen a few horrible pieces of literature; I had set the bar too low; have underrated so much here.  (The Like button is also there for whether you found the piece worth it after pushing through.)

I mean, to make it about agreeing with the content before getting halfway through?  Guilty.

This is humiliating.  But necessary.  Not to make it about me, but to state and emphasize: READ FIRST, ASK QUESTIONS LATER.  Absorb, and you will improve in your own way.

Thoughts? Reply:

